Sartre on MMORPGs?

Nothing seemed true, I felt surrounded by cardboard scenery which could quickly be removed.

Hell is other people.

Objects should not touch because they are not alive. You use them, put them back in place, you live among them. They are useful, nothing more.

I was just thinking – that here we sit all of us, eating and drinking to preserve our precious existence and really there is nothing, nothing, absolutely no reason for existing.

People who live in society have learned to see themselves in mirrors as they appear to their friends.

I am. I am. I exist, I think, therefore I am; I am because I think that I don’t want to be, I think that I � because � ugh! I flee.

sartre-yawn.gif

“Many of the most famous quotes of Jean-Paul Sartre seem eerily applicable to our relationship to the virtual worlds created by games. Students of philosophy would tell you that he was simply recognizing the artificiality of every world we perceive, sincre they are all mental constructs in the end.” Raph Koster dixit on his book A Theory of Fun.

One Response

  1. this is extremely interesting stuff id never otherwise consider..

    good remixing sartre man

Leave a Reply

