E3 stuff

So the E3 was finally held in Santa Monica this year, but who cares about this suit-driven event? Certainly not me. Anyhow, two very interesting news woke me up this morning regarding the former “it” event of the game industry:

WiiFit. A new interface to plug into our Wiis so we can feel the joy of dancing and excercising in front of the TV. I just want to state that I love the fact that it seems that we finally have a massive platform for interactive hardware innovation. The Wii is becoming the one and only place where you’ll want to try out games in a more immersive and phyiscal way. Yet, it’s not that standard considering Nintendo is the only manufacturer of peripherals right now.

Finally, E3 also unveiled another elegant proof that Games-are-art-and-there’s-nothing-you-can-say-against-that. Escher inspired Echocrome plays with your perceptual skills of recognizing perspective. Reminds me of a time in my life when my perspective-recognition skills disappeared for a couple of hours and reality became flat just like in a videogame…

2 Responses

  1. I agree, E3 was not very noteworthy. More first-person shooters, blah blah. I can’t understand why people get exciting about every new batch of FPS’s. WiiFit is the only thing that caught my attention, but that second video of the Escher game looks amazing! I want to try it!

  2. maybe the spam block blocked my last comment.

    I was sayin that you can try echocrome searching in google for OLE Coordinate System. it was a student project that won a prize in an art contest in Japan.

Leave a Reply

